Oil of Oregano – A powerhouse for the natural medicine cabinet!

Hi everyone!

I wanted to share with you all what has been keeping us in such good health especially over the winter season: Oil of Oregano! I can’t say enough about this  powerful natural oil, and I don’t leave the house without it!  So many people have gotten sick, have sore throats and colds and flu’s that just don’t seem to go away, and I don’t want any part of that, as I’m sure you don’t!

Oil Of Oregano

How do I take Oregano Oil?

I buy the most potent Oregano Oil, with a content of carvacol of anywhere from 70-85%.

I put a  couple of drops (2-3) of this healing oil under the tongue and keep it there for a few minutes (1-2). It’s going to taste like peppery and burning! Not fun, but you build a little bit of tolerance to it, so it’s not so bothersome later on.

The oil starts to kill bacteria in the mouth (where the most bacteria is found) instantly, and that’s why you feel a burning sensation, then after 2 minutes I do a short gargle with it and swallow it, trying to let it fall to the back of my throat, the place that gets a lot of mucus from my nose and bacteria from my mouth, making sure that my throat is nicely coated with a little oil for later =)

At this point you can drink a little water or a good juice to wash the taste away of oregano.

* * *

Here’s what makes Oregano Oil so effective: it’s been shown to kill unwanted bacteria, fungus, yeast, parasites and viruses. It’s a powerful antihistamine too – and you know allergy season is right around the corner! Start boosting your immunity with oregano oil before the season hits, and you never know, you might just find yourself allergy free!! It’s an antiseptic, anti microbial, and  anti fungal oil. Herbal authority Steven Foster credits oregano as having been used successfully to treat indigestion, diarrhea, nervous tension, insect bites, toothache, earache, rheumatism, and coughs due to whopping cough and bronchitis.

The Greeks knew all about this plant, its name in greek translates to “joy of the mountain“, and perhaps one of the reasons why mediterranean people have such great health is because they put oregano on everything!! They used it to treating infection related illnesses and disease, and as the properties of this great antibiotic start being revealed to the rest of the world, everyone is taking notice of this miracle oil!

This is what you can be sure to find in oregano oil’s healing properties:

Carvacrol has been proven in studies to be a powerful antimicrobial, so powerful that it can be used to preserve food and render it self-stable. Research has shown it to be effective against candida albicans, the aspergillus mold, staphylococcus, campylobacter, klebsiella, e.coli, giardia, Pseudomonas, salmonella, and listeria. Carvacrol provides many of the health benefits of oil of oregano .

Thymol is a natural fungicide with antiseptic properties. It is the active ingredient in Listerine mouthwash. Thymol is also an immune system booster and a shield against toxins. It is capable of preventing tissue damage and encouraging healing.

Terpenes is the source of the word turpentine. Terpenes give off a pine scent and are also produced by pine trees. Terpenes have potent antibacterial properties.

Rosmarinic acid is a stronger antioxidant than vitamin E. It prevents free radical damage and is instrumental in preventing atherosclerosis and cancer. Rosmarinic acid has shown to be effective in the treatment of allergic asthma. It reduces fluid build up and swelling during an allergy attack, and is an effective natural antihistamine.

Naringin is the substance that gives grapefruit its bitter taste. It has been shown to inhibit the growth of cancer cells and helps boost the effect of antioxidants.

Oil of oregano also contains a good amount of the vitamin E complex, as well as calcium, magnesium, zinc, iron, potassium, copper, boron, manganese, vitamins A and C, and niacin.

Learn more about Oregano Oil : http://www.naturalnews.com/024685_oregano_oil_of.html#ixzz2KjycNTWY

I hope this information helped you get to know Oregano Oil! It’s something that no kitchen or bathroom medicine cabinet should go without! It’s definitely worth the investment!!

Much love, and to your health,

Irina Thomason

 The Natural Ways

The Natural Ways

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. shamrockexpress
    Feb 13, 2013 @ 04:27:56

    thank you Irina! As you know from my tweets, I tend to come to you for some help on natural cold remedies (You would think living in Aus that I wouldn’t get sick so often! hehe) BUT I’ll be using this!

    Reply

  2. Kristina vera
    Feb 16, 2013 @ 12:46:15

    Thank you for this article. I’m wondering if I could put a few drops in my children’s smoothies? Would it taste too strong? I don’t vaccinate my daughters so I am always looking for more natural homeopathic ways to raise my daughters.

    Reply

    • Irina
      Feb 16, 2013 @ 20:16:03

      I would recommend adding oregano oil to green smoothies or green juices blended with parsley, cilantro and basil along with the other greens, like kale or dandelion greens (and a few sweeter vegetables like beets and carrots and a couple of apples.) Once oregano oil has blended in with all the other ingredients, you can’t really distinguish any one particular taste. You just need to experiment a little to get the flavor just right for you, and them. Congratulations on staying away from vaccines!! I was just reading an article yesterday about how there have been no comparative studies done by vaccine companies on vaccinated and non vaccinated people! That is just wrong! I plan on doing the same to my future children!

      Reply

      • Kristina vera
        Feb 17, 2013 @ 01:44:24

        I agree and my children are now 11, 9 and 6 and I and my hubby feel we made the best choice to stay away from vaccines. I just bought oil of oregano and you were right.. It kinda stings under the tongue but I am excited an will put it in their green smoothies tomorrow. Thankfully my 3 daughters try anything I give them, even if they don’t like it, they always try it.

      • Irina
        Feb 17, 2013 @ 02:31:48

        Awesome! I hope they don’t mind it too much! The health benefits are worth it 🙂 let me know how it goes, I’m curious to see what they will think!

      • Kristina Vera
        Feb 18, 2013 @ 14:32:55

        Great news.. my 3 daughters could not get pass the burn of the oregano so…. every day I give my daughters a teaspoon of raw honey with cinnamon they love it not sure if you have heard of the amazing benefits of honey and cinnamon but they are many. So i added a drop of the oregano oil to their teaspoon of honey and they honestly didn’t even notice it. Hoorray! i will be adding that as well. I tried it and it seems that the honey acts as a carrier oil of some sort but I really loved the taste so I join them in our new combination of honey raw unfiltered of course oh and local as well and oil of oregano and cinnamon. Let me know if you try it how you and your hubby like it . Thank you so much!
        Kristina

      • Irina
        Feb 18, 2013 @ 18:39:06

        awesome! that is a great idea! yes, i have heard of the benefits of honey, i actually put up a post dedicated to just that! lol.. honey and cinnamon =) they go so great together! Very glad to hear you found a good way for them to enjoy taking their oregano oil!! And thank you so much for sharing!

Leave a Reply

