Toxin Free Body – Face Toners

DeVita Cool Cucumber Toner

First I just have to say, it’s so important to take good care of your skin, to treat it gently, to not abuse it with bad products laced with synthetic chemicals, preservatives, heavy metals and color additives. Today we have the power to choose! A while ago, organic skin care lines were relatively few and far between, but these days there are options!! Hooray!

While it might seem expensive to splurge on the organic skin care product, in the long run it will save you money! You’ll find your skin will probably break out less, and be less prone to irritation and sensitivities that can develop with “conventional” skin products and makeup, thereby saving you money on “solution” products to save your skin. Preventative is always Key!! That starts with good basic skin care and skin care products.

Alright, so now that we are all on the same page here, let me tell you about my favorite, Favorite, Hands Down most awesome toner I have ever used!! It’s called Cool Cucumber and it’s made by a company called DeVita. It’s amazing!! It’s so refreshing, all natural, no alcohol (unlike most toners), and it has lactic acid which is anti-aging and a powerful exfoliant!

Why is no alcohol important? A toner is supposed to hydrate your skin, not dry it out!! Some really good skin care lines out there have shocked me completely by including alcohol at the top of their ingredients! Disgusting! And they claim to be natural and organic too, so it just goes to show you that you ALWAYS have to READ THE LABEL! Always.

DeVita’s Cool Cucumber toner (which you can find at your local Whole Foods/Sprouts/Capers/Mother’s or most health food stores) also has a naturally active fruit acids that help to promote the feeling of smoother, fresher-looking skin. And the cucumber scent it so refreshing!! I like to use this toner to either remove my makeup by spraying a few pumps on a cotton ball, or at the end of the night, right before bed, I simply spray a few pumps on my face from a little distance and let the mist settle onto my skin, letting it soak in. The smell of it is pure therapeutic for me, calms my senses, and the mist really hydrates my skin, which is especially beneficial during dry seasons, and when you live in California like me – you live in the desert. It’s always dry season!!

*************

What about if you are really on a budget and can’t afford the $20 on a good toner?

I’ve got you covered! There is also a natural way to make a toner – just simply use a little apple cider vinegar like Bragg’s! Dab some liquid onto a cotton ball, and use it on your face. Vinegar kills bacteria pretty effectively, that’s why it’s used in so many DIY home cleaning products, but Bragg’s Raw and Unfiltered Apple Cider Vinegar is not as harsh as white vinegar, it still retains active enzymes that help to cleanse and break down impurities in your skin.

Since I started eating healthy foods based on the Nourishing Traditions guideline back in 2005 my skin has maintained a healthy elasticity and I hardly ever break out. A good diet goes a loooong way! But every now and then I still get a pimple, like when my period is about to hit, or when I have to wash my pillow sheets, so I just dab a little toner or apple cider vinegar on the blemish and that takes care of it fast!
Enjoy your toxin-free and clear skin!!

 

Leave a Reply

